Welcome to the IBM Connections Product Ideas Lab! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated by the IBM Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events, please visit our IBM Connections page.


Prompt users for Check-out / check-in in Community/personal files

In CCM a file that is opened from the desktop explorer or to edit on desktop automatically prompted the user to indicate whether he/she wants to edit the file or just read it. Edit will automatically check out the file, preventing others from editing it. On saving the user is then prompted if he wants to check in the file again.

This prevents two users from simultaneously editing the file in a local application (MS Word/MS Excel/MS Powerpoint) which could cause conflicting versions and loss of information. For editing the file in IBM Docs this isn't required as then two editors would see each others actions as they do them but for editing on local this would really help a lot to prevent irritation and rogue versions.

Perhaps with an option for the community owner or administrator to activate this behavior per community or company wide.

  • Avatar32.5fb70cce7410889e661286fd7f1897de Guest
  • Aug 2 2018
  • Future consideration
  • Attach files