Add the ability to Tune Out a Community, you would remain a member and still have access, but otherwise no Connections generated updates or e-mail would be sent to you.
Details: This would be an extension of the Tune-out capability of Activities, but at a Community level. With the proliferation of Communities comes of the problem of information overload. You can Follow or not a given Community after you are added or join it, but even when Follow is off, you will still get e-mail if someone sends it to the Community. If you removed yourself from the Community, then you lose access to the data if it is a private one, and extra steps are needed to add you back in by the Owners, both undesirable. Also, people go on temporary assignments, and so the Community updates might also be temporarily of no interest. So for these and other scenarios, we would add to the GUI a 3rd. option:
Alternatively could be positioned in Following Actions.
Once Tune-Out had been set at at Community level, no e-mail would be sent out, no other notifications or updates would be posted to the persons profile, etc. It is as if they were not a Member, except they would still have Browser and Mobile App access, should they want to see the content.
#paul_jones #community #follow #tune-out #notifications