Welcome to the IBM Connections Product Ideas Lab! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated by the IBM Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events, please visit our IBM Connections page.


Mark Community as Inactive/Read Only

Frequently communities and sub communities are used to support projects. As soon as the project ends there shall be no new contents within this community. At the very moment Connections does not allow to set this community to read only. Please introduce a read only feature for the entire community.

  • Avatar32.5fb70cce7410889e661286fd7f1897de Guest
  • Jul 25 2018
  • Future consideration
  • Attach files
  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    July 26, 2018 19:40

    This is already possible at some level ... not by one click and with some minor restrictions:

     

    Activities
    -> Community Actions > Edit Community > Members of this community will have this role in community activities: > Reader

    Blog (Posts, Comments)
    -> Community Actions > Edit Community > Blog > Members of this community will have this role: > Viewer
    -> Blog > Blog Actions > Manage Blog > Allow comments for your blog: > Disable

    Bookmarks
    -> Not possible to prevent members adding new bookmarks

    Events
    -> Community Actions > Edit Community > Events >  Members have the role of: > Reader

    Feeds
    -> Only community owners can add feed, not members

    Files
    -> Community Actions > Edit Community > Files > Members have the role of > Reader
    => Would still allow to share files and folders from personal files with the community
    => Would still allow adding comments

    Forums
    -> Forums > Click forum > Forum Actions > Lock Forum

    Wiki
    -> Community Actions > Edit Community > Wiki > Members have the role of: > Reader
    => Would still allow adding comments

    Library (CCM)
    -> Community Actions > Edit Community > Library > Community members have access to files and folders as: > Reader

    Status Updates
    -> Community Actions > Edit Community > Status Updates > The following people can post status updates to the community > "No one"

    Community membership
    -> For public community, change from "Public" to "Moderated" to prevent joining new members
    -> For restricted community, no change required

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    August 6, 2018 08:29

    @comment no 1

    The explanation on technical features of the applications very much explain my pain. You cannot tell a community owner that these are the steps and that these do not fulfill the a simple goal. Please make inactive a consistent feature and do not destroy the app settings, since these might have to be recovered as soon as the owner decides to revert the community to active.