Welcome to the IBM Connections Product Ideas Lab! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated by the IBM Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events, please visit our IBM Connections page.


Connections 5.5 Notes Plugin move attachment community dialogue

Users complain about the Notes client connections plugin that every move a an attachment to the Connections 5.5 Notes client plugin's "Files" they have to open and fill in the dialogue concerning the communities/persons. This is very annoying if they have to move several files from different emails to the Connections store. Is it possible to define a default community where the moved data should be stored and the user has only to commit the place where the attachment is being stored or to change it, if necessary?

 

Please have a look at the 3 screenshots. At the first one (Conn-1.png) you can see an email with an pdf attachment and on the right side the Connections Plugin "Dateien" (Files) where the attachment should be stored in.

I drag and drop the attachment to the "Files" Connections plugin and the dialogue where you can select the community/person where the file will be stored in is displayed. You can then select a community or person - you've to select and search for it and put it into the fields. Probably you want to store it into two communities or for three persons - you have to search, select and put that names into that dialogue - that is time consuming - see attachment Conn-2.png and Conn3-png. Then the file is being saved.

Then I open another email and want to save the attachment as well.

I have to do all the steps I did before - if the last selection of persons/communities would have been saved and displayed as default for the new upload, then this would save a lot of time. Currently I have to go all the steps again - if a user has to move several files to Connections Files then this is annoying and the user wants to have a solution for that to improve usability and acceptance.

Either you have a default / last choice should be displayed or a set of selections with pre-set values should be available to chose.

  • Avatar32.5fb70cce7410889e661286fd7f1897de Guest
  • Mar 4 2019
  • Under review
  • Attach files